Pages Picks: January 2021

Pages Bookshop
4 min readJan 19, 2021

--

Here we are, embarking on another year. For us, books have been a much-needed companion as well as something we just can’t get into lately, depends on the day. No matter where your reading habits fall, we’re here to give you titles hand-selected by our booksellers.

These are the titles released this month that we’re most looking forward to. We hope it gives you a good place to begin the year. And remember, we can always provide personal recommendations! Simply fill out this request and we’ll deliver a few titles to your inbox just for you. You can search our inventory online anytime at pagesbkshop.com.

Amari and The Night Brothers by B.B. Alston
Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black in this exhilarating debut middle grade fantasy, the first in a trilogy filled with #blackgirlmagic. Perfect for fans of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, the Percy Jackson series, and Nevermoor.

Bride of the Sea by Eman Quotah
Eman Quotah’s Bride of the Sea is a spellbinding debut of colliding cultures, immigration, religion, and family; an intimate portrait of loss and healing; and, ultimately, a testament to the ways we find ourselves inside love, distance, and heartbreak.

The Children’s Train by Viola Ardone
Based on true events, a heartbreaking story of love, family, hope, and survival set in post-World War II Italy — written with the heart of Orphan Train and Before We Were Yours — about poor children from the south sent to live with families in the north to survive deprivation and the harsh winters.

A Swim in the Pond in the Rain by George Saunders
From the New York Times bestselling, Booker Prize–winning author of Lincoln in the Bardo and Tenth of December comes a literary master class on what makes great stories work and what they can tell us about ourselves — and our world today.

Aftershocks: A Memoir by Nadia Owusu
In the tradition of The Glass Castle, a deeply felt memoir from Whiting Award–winner Nadia Owusu about the push and pull of belonging, the seismic emotional toll of family secrets, and the heart it takes to pull through.

Land by Simon Winchester
The author of The Professor and the Madman and The Perfectionists explores the notion of property — our proprietary relationship with the land — through human history, how it has shaped us and what it will mean for our future.

Lore by Alexandra Bracken
From the #1 New York Times best-selling author of The Darkest Minds comes a sweepingly ambitious, high-octane tale of power, destiny, love, and redemption.

The Awakening of Malcolm X by Ilyassah Shabazz and Tiffany D. Jackson
A powerful narrative account of the activist’s adolescent years in jail, written by his daughter Ilyasah Shabazz along with 2019 Coretta Scott King-John Steptoe award-winning author, Tiffany D. Jackson.

Roman and Jewel by Dana L. Davis
If Romeo and Juliet got the Hamilton treatment…who would play the leads? This vividly funny, honest, and charming romantic novel by Dana L. Davis is the story of a girl who thinks she has what it takes…and the world thinks so, too.

Outlawed by Anna North
The Crucible meets True Grit in this riveting adventure story of a fugitive girl, a mysterious gang of robbers, and their dangerous mission to transform the Wild West.

Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas
International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood.

The Prophets by Robert Jones Jr.
A singular and stunning debut novel about the forbidden union between two enslaved young men on a Deep South plantation, the refuge they find in each other, and a betrayal that threatens their existence.

People Like Her by Ellery Lloyd
A razor-sharp, wickedly smart suspense debut about an ambitious influencer mom whose soaring success threatens her marriage, her morals, and her family’s safety.

--

--

Pages Bookshop

Friendly neighborhood bookstore in northwest Detroit. Home to Pip the Cat.