Pages Picks: February and March 2021

Pages Bookshop
6 min readMar 19, 2021

--

These late-winner new releases are more than enough to get us through to Spring. We’re still in hibernation, and if you are too, here are the titles we’re loving and reading until the flowers make their long-awaited debut.

Remember, we can always provide personal recommendations! Simply fill out this request and we’ll deliver a few titles to your inbox just for you. You can search our inventory online anytime at pagesbkshop.com.

Milk Fed by Melissa Broder
Pairing superlative emotional insight with unabashed vivid fantasy, Broder tells a tale of appetites: physical hunger, sexual desire, spiritual longing, and the ways that we as humans can compartmentalize these so often interdependent instincts.

Muse by Brittany Cavallaro
American Royals meets The Winner’s Curse in the first book of a dazzling duology from New York Times bestselling author Brittany Cavallaro about revolution, love, and friendship in a reimagined American monarchy.

The Removed by Brandon Hobson
Steeped in Cherokee myths and history, a novel about a fractured family reckoning with the tragic death of their son long ago — from National Book Award finalist Brandon Hobson.

Fake Accounts by Lauren Oyler
A woman in a tailspin discovers that her boyfriend is an anonymous online conspiracy theorist in this “absolutely brilliant take on the bizarre and despicable ways the internet has warped our perception of reality.”

No One is Talking About This by Patricia Lockwood
Fragmentary and omniscient, incisive and sincere, No One Is Talking About This is at once a love letter to the endless scroll and a profound, modern meditation on love, language, and human connection from a singular voice in American literature.

Super Host by Kate Russo
Warm, witty, and utterly humane, Super Host offers a captivating portrait of middle age, relationships, and what it truly means to take a new chance at life.

Medicare For All: A Citizen’s Guide by Abdul El-Sayed and Micah Johnson
Medicare for All is the leading proposal to achieve universal health coverage in America. But what is it exactly? How would it work? More importantly, is it practical or practicable? A serious examination of how Medicare for All would transform the way we give, receive, and pay for healthcare in America.

We Too: Essays on Sex Work and Survival Edited by Natalie West with Tina Horn
Writing across topics such as homelessness, motherhood, and toxic masculinity, We Too: Essays on Sex Work and Survival gives voice to the fight for agency and accountability across sex industries.

Under a White Sky: The Nature of the Future by Elizabeth Kolbert
The Pulitzer Prize–winning author of The Sixth Extinction returns to humanity’s transformative impact on the environment, now asking: After doing so much damage, can we change nature, this time to save it?

The Black Church: This is Our Story, This is Our Song by Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
From the New York Times bestselling author of Stony the Road and one of our most important voices on the African American experience comes a powerful new history of the Black church as a foundation of Black life and a driving force in the larger freedom struggle in America.

The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna
An interesting, immersive fantasy where women are treated as second-class citizens and killed if they are deemed to be impure. This all changes when Deka, deemed impure, survives death and joins the alaki, where she is trained to be an elite warrior in an army of women. With wonderful world-building and adventure, this book is perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone.

Muted by Tami Charles
Inspired by true events, Muted is a fearless exploration of the dark side of the music industry, the business of exploitation, how a girl’s dreams can be used against her — and what it takes to fight back.

Love is a Revolution by Renee Watson
In Love Is a Revolution, plus size girls are beautiful and get the attention of the hot guys, the popular girl clique is not shallow but has strong convictions and substance, and the ultimate love story is not only about romance but about how to show radical love to the people in your life, including to yourself.

Reaper of Souls #2 by Rena Barron
A prince repelled by magic. A king bent on revenge. A witchdoctor who does not walk alone. Brimming with dark magic, high stakes, and serpentine twists, the second book in Rena Barron’s thrilling YA fantasy saga is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Sabaa Tahir, and Tomi Adeyemi.

Feelings: a Story in Seasons by Manjit Thapp
A stunning illustrated journey through one young woman’s year of feelings — from the saturated highs of early summer to the gray isolation of late winter.

That They Lived by Rochelle Riley
That They Lived fills in gaps in the history that American children have been taught for generations. For African American children, it will prove that they are more than descendants of the enslaved. For all children, it will show that every child can achieve great things and work together to make the world a better place for all.

Dreams for a Daughter by Carole Boston Weatherford
This stunning and empowering picture book from a New York Times bestselling author and an acclaimed illustrator celebrates a Black mother’s hopes and dreams for her daughter.

Our Skin: a First Conversation About Race by Megan Madison, Jessica Ralli, Isabel Roxas
Based on the research that race, gender, consent, and body positivity should be discussed with toddlers on up, this read-aloud board book series offers adults the opportunity to begin important conversations with young children in an informed, safe, and supported way.

--

--

Pages Bookshop

Friendly neighborhood bookstore in northwest Detroit. Home to Pip the Cat.